70% Mental

I cannot believe how difficult it has been for me to run 3 miles lately. I can easily run 6 or 7, but when it comes to 3…I feel like it wears me down. Doesn’t make sense.

Yesterday I ran 3 miles with Jeremy and by the end was trailing behind. It was pretty hot outside and as soon as I stopped, I felt my knees buckle and I really thought I was going to fall over. I run 3 miles all the time. Why has it been so difficult?

When I think about doing the full marathon, I really don’t know if I can do it. Not because I can’t physically do it…but because I’m not mentally prepared. How does one work on their mental toughness??

I guess I’ve been feeling down a lot lately, which doesn’t help. Applying for several jobs and not getting called for an interview really sucks…especially after earning a Master’s degree. I know I just got out of school a couple months ago, but when I see my peers getting jobs…I feel like I’m way behind. Anyways…back to running.

I’m supposed to run 4 miles today. I’m going to try to think positively. I’m not running for time today. It may be hot out when I run, but it’s nothing I haven’t handled before. Think happy thoughts.

Also, it may be a good idea, while we’re talking about percentages…to focus on that 80% diet. I ate a Blizzard last night before dinner. While it was mighty delicious…it was also about 800 calories. Oreo Cheesequake with peanut butter. Heavenly.

So I’ll leave you (potential reader…or imaginary reader) with this question to answer:

How do you prepare yourself mentally?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

