Healthy Food on the Back Burner

I have not been too terrible about eating healthy, but this week it is like healthy isn’t even in my vocabulary. Donuts, pizza, and skipping meals seem to be my routine this week. Oh, and I can’t forget the 4 boxes of Girl Scout Cookies that I bought. I ate one box so far, but I’m working on the others. Sounds great right?

Not really. I always hear things like, “You can eat anything you want because you’re skinny” or “You have such great metabolism!”, but the truth is…when I eat anything I want (which is the case this week), I feel miserable physically, mentally, and emotionally.

I ran 3.5 miles today and I felt like I did in high school when I was just starting cross country. My stomach hurt and I kept trying to push myself to go faster, but the motivation just wasn’t there. Lately, I’ve also been getting lapped a lot on the track. Usually I’m at least passing some people, but I felt like I was just in a rut. I’m guessing the cookies, donuts, and other foods are the culprit. 

I don’t know why it took me so long to realize why my workouts haven’t been great. I’ve put healthy food on the back burner. I’ve been so preoccupied with school work and attempting to have a social life that I didn’t plan my meals. I haven’t been thinking about what I’m putting into my body. I’m just eating everything that looks good and is convenient.

Good thing I’m not going to be in a bikini during spring break!

Tonight I finally decided that I cannot just eat whatever there is around me. I need to make a meal. So here I am…eating vegetable stir fry with brown rice. Honestly, it’s kind of bland. But I think my other choice of eating a box of thin mints would not have been as nutritional.

It’s time to get creative and think of new recipes and ways to eat healthy that are convenient and inexpensive. Any suggestions?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

