Christmas vacation

First things first, I am not ready to get back to work or school. It will not be that difficult for me to get back to school, but I have not worked in over a month. I am not prepared for the stress of classes, practicum, and trying to work part-time. Also, one of my New Year’s resolutions is to spend more time with my friends. Another is to work out more. Let’s see how this all pans out.

I’m going to describe my Christmas vacation starting with the most recent events first because that’s how I posted my pictures and I don’t feel like rearranging them. 🙂

I am currently in Springfield with Jeremy and his family. Yesterday I woke up after 12 and tried out my new Asics on the treadmill for 3 miles at a 10:00 pace. I got stability shoes because according to the lady at Finish Line I have flat feet. While I was running, my foot was not hurting as bad as it usually does. However, I am still not sure if these shoes are the right pair. It is hard to tell when I already have an injury. I am also really out of shape. It is hard to believe that I ran a half marathon in October. I was having trouble running 3 miles. Afterwards, I ate a bagel thin with cream cheese and a banana. I wanted to begin my healthy eating since Christmas is over, but then I failed and snacked all day. Green bean casserole is probably one of my favorite foods. I can eat an entire plate of it and I would be happy. Last night Jeremy and I went to a bar to hang out with his friends. After we left I had to get a bag of honey mustard and onion pretzels. Delicious.

Tuesday I did not run at all because Jeremy and I went to Lima to meet up with our friend Emily that goes to school in England. We met at IHOP. Usually when I go to IHOP I am full quickly. Not today. I ordered the stuffed french toast combo and ate everything except the hash browns. I would have had the hash browns, but when the waitress came over and asked if I was finished I said yes without paying attention. I also had a couple glasses of iced mocha coffee, which was surprisingly good. After hours of catching up, we all went to the mall. I bought some professional clothes for my practicum. 80 percent off at New York and Company! Then I gave in to my obsession with always buying pretzel sticks and cheese at Auntie Anne’s. They are never as wonderful as they smell. After we left Lima, we came back and had a bowl of french onion soup that Jeremy’s mom made. Yummy and surprisingly filling.

image

French onion soup

image

IHOP meal

Monday was the day that I came back to Columbus from my small hometown. Shortly after I came home, Jeremy arrived and we left to go to Springfield. On the way, we stopped at Popeye’s to pick up chicken for dinner with Christmas leftovers. Popeye’s is so much better than KFC. Fried chicken is another one of my favorite foods. My grandma used to make fried chicken when I was younger. Part of my family is from Kentucky so the food my grandma makes is always fantastic…and unhealthy.

I will just do a quick summary of my time in good ol’ Appalachia. I spent most of the week hanging out with my friends and family. I ate a lot of food, watched a lot of movies, went to the mall a lot, and ran a little. I only ran twice this week. One day, I ran with my dog. Rusty is a pretty good running buddy because he pushes me to run faster and we only stop on his terms. I thought it was going to be a quick run down the street and back because he usually stops and starts running in the opposite direction, but not this time. We ran a loop that was 2.3 miles. Another day I ran by myself for 2 miles. I cannot understand why I was so exhausted running 2 miles. My initial plan was to go further, but instead I gave up and turned around. Right now I am not too worried about this, but once I go back to school I plan on keeping up with workouts.

image

This is Corduroy. I bought this for my niece for Christmas and she had me take a picture of it. 🙂

image

Lunch at Grandma’s. Bowl of beans, fried potatoes and chorizo (Portuguese sausage), and fried bread.

image

This is Smokey. I may steal her one day. She has six claws on each front paw so she walks oddly and always gets stuck in the carpet.

image

I made dinner for my mom. Chicken parmesan, salad, and Texas toast. MMM.

image

My friend, Steph and I bought a large Pangrazio’s pizza. Greasy and tasty.

image

My mom made breaded fish, Velveeta mac and cheese, breaded scallops, and green beans for dinner the first night I came home. The fish wasn’t as good as we hoped, but everything else was pretty good.

 

image

My beautiful cat, Jake.

So that’s my break in a nutshell. I will attempt to post more often in 2012. Hopefully I will have more exciting things to talk about.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

