Nostalgia

This whole half marathon training is pretty exhausting. When I ran it last year, my training plan consisted of me deciding, “Do I want to run today?”. Now running is currently my job. If only I were getting paid…

Recap Time:

Sunday:Nostalgia. The one word to describe my experience running on a high school track. Those that know me well, know that i hated track. I only ran track so I was not a couch potato until cross country season. That, and well…I always had some awesome calf muscles during track season. I miss the extra muscle. I tried to quit track once my senior year. One of my coaches said to me in class, “Why weren’t you at practice yesterday?”. My response, “Yea, I don’t think I’m going to run this year. I don’t have cross country to train for and I’m going to do the school musical.” His response, “Come to practice tomorrow”. Damn. I failed at quitting. He did not buy my musical excuse. I auditioned for it and everything. Turns out my singing AND dancing abilities (acting too most likely) failed at getting a role other than chorus. Any other year I would have accepted that, but this was my senior year. So track won my heart…or at least my after school time and every Saturday for the rest of the school year. Sure, I ended up last at several of my races…but I know I made the right decision.

Sorry for the long rant. Sunday I ran a 5K on a high school track. That was the purpose of that story I suppose.

Mile 1: 8:34                                                                                                                                           Mile 2: 9:45                                                                                                                                           Mile 3: 9:16                                                                                                                                                .1: 1:04                                                                                                                                                        Total time: 28:41

I think I could have managed to go a whole lot faster if it was not for my sudden urge to use the restroom during mile 2. Just saying. Unfortunately, there were no unlocked restrooms in sight.

Monday: I lifted and did an ab workout! Woo. I also saw Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2!!!!!! So sad my HP movie journey is over. This movie was great. Go see it. Also, I just remembered that I saw a girl on the treadmill running at 10 miles per hour. She was tall, thin, muscular, and going ridiculously fast. I wanted to be her. Too bad my motor will not let me run that quickly.

Tuesday: Jeremy and I ran outside! We ran 3.6 miles with a few hills. I sort of felt like I was going to fail at keeping up with him, but I pushed my way through the workout. Dehydration is bad. Lots of water is good. I am getting way too used to running on a treadmill so every time I run outside I feel like I am having more difficulty. It is always nice to get some fresh air though.

Wednesday: When I do my speed workouts, I feel as if I am working fairly hard, yet I still think I am going too slow. Today I think I went too quickly, however, I felt very accomplished afterwards. The only problem is that as I was building speed during my 35 minute tempo run, my ankle was starting to hurt again. It seems that I bought the wrong kind of shoes. I bought cushioning shoes when I most likely need stability shoes. 😦 I will be getting myself a present either before or after the half marathon. New shoes! So I ran an 800 warmup, then started at a 6.0 (10:00 per mile) pace and increased my speed to a 7.2 (8:20 per mile) pace gradually. I did a 6.0 pace cooldown. My mileage for the 35 minutes was 3.7 miles. If my calculations are correct, that would be 9:27 per mile.

I may add pictures later, but until then….Good night.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

