Learning to Fly

I have a threshold of things that I can handle. It is surprisingly a pretty great amount of things, but lately I feel as if I am about to have too much to bear. In my 22 years I have been able to get through whatever comes my way. Looking back I do not know how I managed everything. What do you do when you feel overwhelmed by life?

When going to the gym yesterday, I planned to listen to Terminal, which is one of my depressing bands I go to when I am feeling down. However, after listening to one song I just had to make the decision that I would try to bring more optimism into my life. I started by listening to Tom Petty, then switched to last year’s half marathon playlist. Just listening to the lyrics of “Learning to Fly” made me feel a little bit of hope.

Well I started out down a dirty road
Started out all alone
And the sun went down as I crossed the hill
And the town lit up, the world got still

[Chorus:]
I’m learning to fly, but I ain’t got wings
Coming down is the hardest thing

Well the good ol’ days may not return
And the rocks might melt and the sea may burn

[Chorus]

Well some say life will beat you down
Break your heart, steal your crown
So I’ve started out for God knows where
I guess I’ll know when I get there

I’m learning to fly, around the clouds
But what goes up must come down

[Chorus]

I just love this song because the lyrics talk about how life is difficult, but you still gotta learn to fly. Or something like that. I’m not good at writing out the interpretation, but you get the idea I assume.

So I ran 3 miles on the treadmill in 32 something minutes. It was nice to have a song playing that seemed real, but not ridiculously depressing. Then I did an ab workout and lifted. I think I am starting to see results, however, it is still really difficult for me to do the arm workouts.

Yesterday I ate leftover stuffed shells before my workout. After the workout, I had the usual protein drink, rice cakes, blueberry Greek yogurt, and a handful of almonds. Dinner was leftover vegetarian lasagna and salad. Dessert was the usual bowl of cheesecake ice cream, pretzels, and crackers and Laughing Cow. No pictures today. You have seen it all.

My ankle feels worse unfortunately, but today is my rest day. I am going to try to not be stubborn when it comes to running tomorrow if my ankle still hurts, but I really do not want to stop running. Then again, if I do not take a break my injury may get worse causing me to have to stop running anyways…probably for a longer period of time. So I will have to see how it feels tomorrow. I iced it last night and relaxed with Jeremy and some 30 Rock and Modern Family.

I just thought of my odd dreams last night. There was an old coworker’s wedding, my brother and I running away from these angry parents, and my mom getting psychotically angry at me. These dreams were pretty vivid. That’s the randomness for the day. Good day peeps.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

