How Are You?

This morning I woke up to a text message from one of my sorority sisters, Jasmine, asking how I have been. Lately, I have not been feeling well. Waking up to a message from a great friend/sister made me feel a whole lot better though. I am the type of person that always has racing thoughts and sometimes they can be quite intrusive. Often I feel that people do not really care how I am doing. I wish I could say I had no reason to feel this way, but there are actually many people in my life that never simply ask “How are you?”  Sometimes it can be difficult for me to focus on those that I can count on. I always appreciate knowing that people are thinking of me especially during a time that I feel so alone. So blog readers, How are you doing today? 🙂

Well, that was deep. Sorry, I feel as if my blog is missing something. Maybe what it’s missing is me being real. I got too preoccupied with my workout and what food I have been eating that I have not actually talked about how I am feeling. I think that is a big part of my day and it definitely affects how I have these “running adventures”. I also feel like I have not had many of those lately. I do not really think of my trips to the gym as being adventures, but in this heat it is all I have. Let’s go to yesterday’s workout/food.

I woke up and had a Kroger Lite turkey sausage, egg, and cheese muffin. I usually do not feel a need to document breakfast. Then I headed to the gym with Jeremy and his mom. I decided to kick my speed up a bit since I feel like I have so much more potential than a 10:49 pace or something like that. I ran my 3 miles at 10:00/mile pace. That seemed very difficult, which frustrates me knowing that I was once capable of running 8-9 minute miles. Baby steps. A little over a month ago I ran a 7:22 mile repeat. Now that was a little ridiculous. I think the last time I ran that fast was when I ran the mile in track. (That’s a pretty slow mile time in track btw). I just need to focus on building strength and speed without getting injured.

Lunch was 3 slices of frozen pizza! Only two are shown, but of course I had to go back for a slice.

I also had this as an appetizer while I was waiting. Greek Yogurt. I have been wanting to try this so I finally gave in. I recommend not trying it without mixing in the honey first. Blugh! (Unless you enjoy the taste of spoiled milk.)

Finally, I had a wonderful dinner with salad, strawberries, and vegetarian lasagna. I will have to get the recipe for the lasagna to make for my roommate this year, Lauren. She is a vegetarian. I am looking forward to seeing what kind of food she eats. I am also looking forward to having her as a running buddy! However, I will need to be faster. Every time I run with her I am gasping for breath!

Not the salad from last night, but you get the idea.

Dessert was New York Cherry Cheesecake ice cream. Mmm. I think I am the only one that has been eating it. Finished the evening with some 30 Rock and Modern Family.

I will end my blog with this quote:

“I think everyone knows this in their hearts, but often times people convince themselves into thinking that external factors are the source of their failure, disappointment, and unhappiness…External factors do not determine how you live. You are in complete control of the quality of your life, by either creating or allowing the circumstances you experience.”-Jack Canfield

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

