Gimme Fuel

Lately I am finding that I do not have much to write about due to my runs being few and far between. Also, my runs have been very short. Today I only ran 1.8 miles. Hills, of course. So now I will try out blogging about my food (fuel) as well. I mean, it is important to focus on what I am putting into my body. I promise I will not count calories! That’s pointless in my opinion. At least it is for me. I am not trying to lose weight. I am simply trying to be a happier, healthier person.

This morning I had a great plan to go on a run after eating a light breakfast, however, I ended up eating an iced raspberry jelly doughnut. I am not proud of this, but it was yummy so I can forgive myself. Later I had Wheat Thins and “brie flavored” cheese. I did not want to eat too much because I knew I would be running later. I finally left to run around 7pm. I ran a loop around the neighborhood, which is 1.8 miles.

I am now an extremely paranoid person so I dislike the idea of running alone, but today I did it because I cannot let my fears take over my life (although lately it seems like they are). While running I was  too very aware of my surroundings. By the end of my run I was startled by a sprinkler, birds, and a squirrel running up a tree. I have a lot to work on.

Enough about that. Let’s get to my delicious dinner afterwards! I had leftovers from last night along with a salad (lettuce, carrots, tomato, croutons, shredded cheese, and ranch dressing) and cantaloupe. Usually I am not a huge fan of leftovers because I like variety, but I could not wait to eat this! Last night Jeremy, his family, and I had dinner at a local Japanese steakhouse. This was new for me, but I was excited to try it. I ordered the salmon dinner which came with fried rice, zucchini, mushrooms, and onions. The meal also included soup, salad, and an egg roll (I think). I finished the soup, salad, and roll so unfortunately I did not have any of that for leftovers. The sauce for the dinner was perfect! Usually when I go to restaurants and order rice I end up pouring soy sauce all over it, but I loved the flavor of this rice so there was no need to mess it up with more soy sauce. Just thinking about it makes me wish I had more for tomorrow. Of course I had to take a picture because not only was it tasty, but on a cute dish as well.

yummy in my tummy

Now time to unwind with some tv, then eat a brownie and milk for dessert. I begin my Hal Higdon Half Marathon training program tomorrow! Strength training!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

